The Flame

Last night, before I lit my candle for National Pregnancy Loss and Infant Remembrance, I made a mental list of all the bloggers I could think of that had lost babies.  At first, between three women, six babies were lost.  This count by itself broke my heart.. Then the number rose to seven, eight, and soon nine.  Just when I thought I had remembered each blogger, the number rose to 15.  15 women out there who have suffered as I have, many of those suffering on a much more horrific level.

After reaching 15, I thought of all the women I knew in real life who had lost a child.

16 . . .

17. . .

20. . .

Then the number rose to 30.

After reaching 30, I counted the friends and acquaintances of women I knew who had suffered the same tragedy at some point in their lives.

35. . .40. . . 50. 

51. . .

52. . . 

53. . .

I stopped counting after a bit, but I am fairly certain the number of women I knew or knew of had reached the 60′s or 70′s.

70 women out there who had suffered a loss so painful and horrible, there are no words to describe it.  70 women, many who are burning candles in their hearts, flames flickering wildly.

What truly is devastating is that this is merely my own count.  How many women do you know?

After I lit the candle last night, I let myself sit a few minutes to simply watch the flame.  My husband joined me.  The flame danced strongly and vibrantly.  I thought about my baby, my daughter, just as she was.  I didn’t allow myself to think of the two and a half years that preceded her conception or of the events that might come after her.

Just her.

To me, she was and always will be my angel.

After we blew out her candle, I realized how truly cold the world is without her.  But, I also felt love, mixed in with a flicker of healing.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’m glad that your post ends with the word ‘healing.’ But it hurts my heart to think of how many women have experienced such a loss. Great, heartfelt post. xo

    Reply

  2. I started to think last night of each of the women I know, via the Internet or real life, that have lost. I had to stop counting. There are just so many. I just thought of them all. (If that makes any sense).

    Reply

  3. I too started to go through my blogroll to tag anyone who had lost a baby. I quickly gave up out of the sheer sadness of how many there were. This is a beautiful post and expresses so well this pain that touches the lives of so many.

    Reply

  4. So beautiful and so true. Thank you for posting. It’s amazing how common miscarriage is, and heart breaking.

    I really liked the ritual of lighting the candle the other night. It was comforting to think of all the other women out there doing the same thing and how united we were.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

