2011–Gone, Baby, Gone

Wow–what a year.  When forced to describe something less than pleasing, my husband told me to describe it as unbelievable.  Two-fold meaning and simple: (plus it keeps folks wondering)

“How was your day?”

Unbelievable!

Wasn’t the staff meeting beneficial?”

Unbelievable!

How was your visit with the inlaws?”

-Unbelievable!

You get the picture.  I had an unbelievable year.  No, actually I was blessed with many things.  Anyway, I found this New Year’s template on Journey to the Finish Line’s blog who got it from Unruffled Lanie who got it from All and Sundry.  Many thanks to you all!  Here we go!  Fun, fun, fun:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

*  Met my new best friend, Mr. RE, who had the pleasure of giving me my first ultrasound experiences.

*  Had an HSG from my OB-GYN (I’ve yet to erase this memory).

*  Injected myself with medicines (woo-hoo!!–who says it’s not fun to give yourself a shot that makes your pregnancy test turn false positive!?)

*  OK, enough of the fertility stuff–went on a cruise of the southern Caribbean 

 

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

 I didn’t make any and won’t.  They put too much pressure on people because they will forget about them in a week’s time and feel like a failure.  Feeling like a failure in the beginning of the year does not set a good tone for the remaing 11 months.  I’d rather focus on a few short-term goals like seeing the bottom of my laundry hamper.

 

 3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

*   My friend, Melissa, gave birth in September.  She told me she wanted to get me pregnant as well.  I told her girls couldn’t get girls pregnant.

 *  About a half dozen or so on Fertilitybook, oh, um, that’s Facebook.  I wouldn’t say that I am particularly close to them but their news always seems to find a way to me.

 

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.  I am very thankful for this.

 

5. What countries did you visit?

 I don’t know about countries but we visited Aruba (is this an island or country, or both?), Curacao, and Princess Cays, Bahamas.

 

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

*A baby or 2

*Self-confidence

 

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

*  January 20th ish-Visit to ob-gyn for annual and to discuss fertility

*  September somethingish-1st visit to the RE

*  December 5-Ist IUI

*  December 16-last day of work for a while; leave for cruise

 

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Gosh, I don’t know.  I guess the fact that I overcame my fear and visited the RE in the first place.  Though I have no baby, I have gone through a lot of preliminary testing in one year.

 

 

 9. What was your biggest failure?

Not getting pregnant, though I’m beginning to realize,(finally), that this is not a failure because I honestly did everything I could to make this happen.

 

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Other than having the infertility monster follow me everywhere I go and having a lingering sinus infection, I have to say no.  This is a huge difference from 2010 in which I broke my ankle and slid down the side of a mountain, though these were two different episodes

 

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I don’t think I really bought anything that has made me jump up and down though I do have access to an iPad2.

 

12. Where did most of your money go?

Student loans, car payments, and, of course, to the Infertility Monster.

 

 

13. What did you get really excited about?

Probably blogging and joining a gym

 

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?

*  If I Die Young by The Band Perry (even though it didn’t come out in 2011).  I thought about this song when a local boy from a nearby community died in a motorcycle accident. On his final day of his high-school career, he signed a deal with a university, attended his senior day picnic with his classmates and died the same day.  He would have graduated from high school one week later.

*  The House that Built Me by Miranda Lambert–Just because 

 

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:

Happier or sadder? Probably sadder, but I am trying to be happier

 *  Thinner or fatter? Honestly, the same but I’ve been eating Zebra Cakes and Krispy Kreme doughnuts all week because I feel entitled due to a failed IUI.  We’ll see what happens to my mid-section.

Richer or poorer? Poorer, infertility ain’t cheap!

 

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

*  Crafts

*  Spent more time with family and friends

 

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

*  Worry

*  Slept (helps me not to worry LOL)

 

 18. How did you spend Christmas?

*  Went on a cruise the week before Christmas

 *  Christmas Day–at home with husband then visited my parents and family that night

 

 

19. What was your favorite TV program?

*  The Big Bang Theory

*  The Young and the Restless (or as my husband puts it, The Old and the Geriatric)

 

20. What were your favorite books of the year?


*  Moon Over Manifest

*  The Help

*  Matched

 

 

21. What was your favorite music from this year?

*  Adele

*  Katy Perry

 

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

*  Bridesmaids

*  True Grit

*  The Help

 

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

*  Turned 35 (I don’t look a day past 21, ok maybe 25 and I sure don’t feel it)

*  I got a lot of well-wishes from my family and friends

*  Went out to eat at the awesome California Dreaming restaurant

*  My husband got me a cute charm for my bracelet

 

 24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Hmmn, let me think.  A baby.  Just throwing that out there.

 

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

That’s easy.  I bought way less because:

*  Clothes can’t fill the void in my life

*  I don’t have any money for clothes

*  I now hate trying on clothes because I hate how my tummy looks in them

*  I have no room in my closet or drawers

*  Cleaning out my closet was hard work

*  My cat finds them and makes them her new toy.

 

26. What kept you sane?


*  My husband and family

*  God

*  Blogging

 

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

*  Never judge anyone else until you’ve walked in their shoes

*  Count your blessings

*  You are not as bad as you think (you actually rock)

*  Never give someone else your antibiotics (even if they demand them and you don’t know how to respond)  because you will need them and your pharmacist will act like she is doing you a favor by refusing to do a refill. 

*  Never plan a vacation around Christmas

*  Never leave dogs home alone around said vacation around Christmas because the dogs will overpoop the house the same day you return as retribution for your leaving in the first place. 

 Happy 2012!  Babies to you!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. HAHA! I love Zebra Cakes and California Dreaming! (and reading random things about people courtesy of templates like this!)

    Reply

  2. I finished off my husband’s zebra cakes this morning and I have California Dreaming in a few days!! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

