The Party is Over (or is it?)

Two posts ago I was celebrating a break from TTC–no OPK’s, no scheduled sex, and most importantly no doctor visits.  Well, that break is officially over.

CD1 came about one week early and I am a bit surprised.  Not surprised that I’m not pregnant, but surprised at its super-early arrival.  With Femara, I have a 27-28 cycle.  Without it, I am about 25-26 days.  This cycle was only 21 days.  I guess it could have something to do with the progesterone and Follistim I took two cycles ago, but who knows?  Just something else to scratch my head over.

I had planned to go back to Mr. Re since I took a month off.  AF’s early arrival actually has made it easier (work-wise anyway) for me to do another IUI this month. 

But, like before, I am financially strapped.

I feel so bad.  I can’t even scrap together enough money for one IUI cycle with injectables.  Not if I want to have gas to drive to work, make a car payment, buy food, and pay a student loan.

But. . . I am the teensiest bit happy, because this means I get to take another BREAK!!!

I won’t be going on a fabulous vacation, taking up any new hobbies, or partying like it’s 1999.  I will just be trying to be me.  I will be trying to find the me that I used to be.

However. . .and there is always a however. . . I will be getting bloodwork done Friday.  For whatever reason, I have not had my FSH or AMH tested (in case you don’t know, these tests measure your ovarian reserve).  Of course, I have asked my RE before why I have never been tested and he says it is because the results don’t really change the treatment.  I guess I see his point, but if my only path to pregnancy is IVF, I don’t want to waste any more time or money on IUI’s or other less effective treatments.

So I have persisted, and he has agreed to run the tests.  I am scared though.  Maybe I am opening Pandora’s box and don’t want to know the results.  Maybe I have been kept in the dark for a reason.   

At least I will get the results on Friday for the FSH and Estradiol (the AMH takes 10 days).  I could really use some good news. 

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Ooohhh…I’m hoping you get good news too!!!!!!!!! Keep us posted!

    Reply

  2. At least the tests will provide some clarity which is a good thing and hey another month off to enjoy the start of spring is a good thing – right?

    I hate hate hate how expensive fertility treatment is for you guys in the States. It just seems so incredibly unfair. I wish I could have sent my left over meds to anyone that needed them but I probably would have ended up in jail for breaking the law.

    I have my fingers crossed for some good news for you xx

    Reply

  3. I hope you get good news. I know all too well the anxiety associated with those tests. Another break sounds like just the thing you need, whether the results are good or bad. Enjoy it!

    Reply

  4. Either way, it’s good to know what you’re up against… Especially in terms of planning for the future. I hope the numbers are where they should be! Enjoy your break!

    Reply

  5. Hoping that you get some answers so you know what you’re dealing with!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

