National Infertility Awareness Week

As you all know, NIAW officially kicked off yesterday.  It’s funny–one year ago I had no idea that this sort of thing even existed. 

If you haven’t visited the RESOLVE’s NIAW page, please do so.  I didn’t know it, but a team of women and IF supporters are descending upon Washington DC  in just a few days where they will meet with state senators to advocate for our cause.  Maybe, just maybe, word will get out that there is more than one way to build a family.  I see pictures of these women from years past and I am amazed (and it takes a lot to amaze me)!  I am touched by how these women are able to push their anguish and fears behind them to talk about such a personal and sensitive issue.  That takes courage. 

RESOLVE is also awarding one lucky blog the Hope Award for best blog.  This year’s theme is Don’t Ignore. . . and you fill in the blank as it relates to infertility and the resolution of the disease.  The Don’t Ignore theme is important because every voice that speaks out against this disease in a knowledgeable and passionate way leads the way to global understanding.  For a complete list of rules, click here.

What else can you do?  Paint your nails!  Blue and pink!!  These colors represent infertility and miscarriage.  You could end up with something like this:

OR:

I’m going to do my soon and will post a pic!

We are all advocates, whether we intend to be or not. Whether it’s a blog post or offering a fellow IF’er support, every bit counts. 

To all those who make NIAW and infertility advocacy a possibility: THANK YOU!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for blogging about this and shedding light on the latest happenings! Cant wait to see your painted nails! Hope you’re having a great week!!!

    Reply

  2. Oh yes, last year I was blissfully unaware, now I’m an advocate! Life changes quickly in a year, right? Let’s hope the next year it changes quickly in the RIGHT direction! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by DandelionBreeze... previously NYMum on April 24, 2012 at 1:07 am

    What a wonderful idea… love the nails :)) xoxo

    Reply

  4. Posted by St. Elsewhere on April 24, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Gorgeous idea for the nails…

    #24

    Reply

  5. I had not seen the nails. Cute! Can’t wait to see yours. I’m so grateful to those women who are going to DC on behalf of all of us.

    Reply

  6. Posted by DandelionBreeze on April 28, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    Thinking of you and have nominated you for a One Lovely Blog Award…
    via http://newyearmum.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/one-lovely-blog-award.html
    … sorry that it’s taken me a few days to let you know… I’m a little behind on reading.commenting 😦
    Love to you always xoxo

    Reply

  7. the painting the nails blue and pink is a super cute idea!!

    Perusing your blog via ICLW (#86)

    Reply

  8. […] it or not, I did paint my nails pink and blue  in honor of NIAW. They are pink which makes me extremely happy.  I will post a pic in a bit, though they are not as […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

