Knee-Deep in IVF Land

Obligatory IVF meds pic

Obligatory IVF meds pic

It’s CD 6! My medicine (see lovely pic above) arrived last Friday and I had my first baseline ultrasound and stim injection on Tuesday. Tuesday is also the day my period arrived–literally the minute I changed into the sheet to go get in the stirrups. Life is funny that way. I felt the need to warn the nurse so I told her, “My period just started” but what I really meant was “My period started a minute ago while I was on the toilet so I don’t know if it’s all going to come gushing out or just stay in there , so be warned.”

So technically it is CD 4 period-wise (not that you necessarily need to know that) and CD 6 IVF-wise.  This makes obsessive Googling difficult.  But that’s ok, because I have banned myself from Googling anything related to this procedure from here on out. Yes, the ban has been in place long before now and I’ve broken it many, many times, but this time I really mean it–really.

My strategy for this whole journey is a new one: stay positive.  Not only for the cycle, but for all areas in my life as well:

Complaining? Not going to do it anymore!

Gossiping?  No.

Cursing/Swearing (I only did this once this morning) Nope.

Speaking/Thinking negatively of myself or others: Not for me.

Fussing at the dogs: Never!

Yep, creating a culture of positivity.  That’s me.

I’ve also done my best to stay physically and mentally relaxed by going to acupuncture sessions.  I wasn’t going to do it, but I had been thinking about it for some time and at the last minute I decided to go for it and it is a decision I am happy I made. Two words come to mind when I think about acupuncture: simply heavenly. So heavenly that I actually feel like I shouldn’t be behind the wheel of a car to drive home. My body used to always be in that “fight or flight mode” and I have to say that for the most part now, that is not the case.

But it’s a little weird. For some of the treatments, you lie down face-down since some of the needles go into your lower, lower back.  This means you have to loosen your belt, pull down your pants a few inches (or have the acupuncturist do it for you which is even more awkward) and reveal your pasty pale behind.  Then, you try to have a conversation facedown with the acupuncturist but all you can think about is how your butt is the focal point in the room. At least you remembered not to wear a thong. This time.

But even this bit of embarrassment is a small price to pay for euphoria.

Of course, a feel-good body results in a feel-good mind. This IVF is always on my mind, but not in a paralyzing way. I’m obsessing, but not the way I could be (like every millisecond ) and this is a big step for me.

I go back to the RE on Sunday morning. The RE started me out on a pretty strong dose of Follistim, 225 iu twice a day, which has now been changed to 225 iu in the morning and 300 in the evening, along with a small hcg shot each day. The RE, who is very sweet, said not to expect much at my ultrasound today, but she did tell me that I have a couple of follicles that have started. I’m relieved because I feared that I would have no response at all. Why this fear? Because I consulted Dr. Google who informed me that this happens to people. Do you see why Dr. Google has been banned?

That’s it for now. I’ll keep everyone posted with more updates, hopefully good ones.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, you sound like you’re in a very zen place. Maybe I could use a little acupuncture! Smart move banning Dr. Google, too. Best of luck with this cycle!

    Reply

  2. Sorry, but I couldn’t help picturing the scene at the acupuncturist LOL I also went for acupuncture and while I never felt as blissful as you do, I did enjoy the experience – not least for the half hour of peace and quiet it gave me during a very stressful time. Plus, along with the herbs I was taking it did help me feel better physically.
    Wishing you the very best of luck with this cycle and that you’ll manage to stay in your Zen place 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lower back near crack is where the ‘gate of life’ is.. lucky us!! Really glad that you’re positive and all zen. Sending you a big hug and wishing you sooo much luck for your IVF. I want this to be it for you!

    Reply

  4. Love your positivity and your being so proactive. Wishing you the very, very best!

    Reply

  5. Posted by dogsarentkids on October 26, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    Good luck! I love these IVF med pics. No clue why. I’m weird.

    And I also can’t stop picturing your butt in the air with needles poking out of it. How fun!

    Reply

  6. Good for you for being in a good place! Good luck and I hope this is your time! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

